Our History

Since 1976

From a small group of people holding worship services led by retired Methodist pastors at Matzke Elementary School, Lakewood United Methodist Church officially began with the appointment in 1976 of the Reverend Larry Sykora to begin a new "Room to Grow" church in the growing northwest Houston/Cypress/Tomball area. Thirty-five individuals met with Pastor Sykora at Spring Creek Park for a picnic and, after deciding to combine forces, the new congregation held its initial service on the first Sunday of October 1976. The fellowship then began meeting at T.S. Hancock Elementary School and on the day of its official charter, ninety-nine members joined to form the core group of LUMC   

Since the church met in a public school, everything needed for worship and Sunday School, including the nursery, had to be brought in each week for the set-up, generally going home in each of the members' cars for storage during the week. Choir practice was held at the parsonage and meetings for such groups as the United Methodist Women and youth, along with each of the committees, were conducted in the homes of members. The inconvenience built character, of course, but it did occasionally create some problems, such as when the turkeys for the first church Thanksgiving meal had to wait on several members to go home and bring back their microwaves in order to finish the cooking! 

With the help of the Texas Annual Conference, land was purchased on Highway 249 and Louetta as the site for Lakewood and, in best Methodist fashion, a bazaar and craft sale were held on the new property to begin raising funds for the facility. It soon became evident that the site was inadequate for the future ministry of LUMC, however, and so two parcels of property totaling 7.3 acres at the present location of Louetta and Jones were purchased as well. The congregation moved into the first permanent facility on the property in April 1980. Major additions followed in succeeding years, with the opening of the educational building in August 1987 and our present sanctuary on Easter Sunday 1997. Three additional acres lying between the church and Jones Road were purchased in the following year and in 2001 a parking lot was built upon the acreage. Our multi-purpose FAITH Center (Fellowship And Inspiration Through Him) was dedicated in May 2006, followed by the Scouting and Community Ministries Building the following spring. The newest addition to the church, our All Saints Garden, containing a columbarium and beautifully landscaped pond, was opened on the west side of the sanctuary in 2010 and has already become a special place for remembrance and reflection, expanding our ministries to now reach literally from the cradle to the grave. 

From the original ninety-nine members, the membership of LUMC has grown to now more than 3,800. Similarly, the ministries of our congregation have expanded many-fold, and now include outreach programs stretching from our own part of Houston to Hong Kong and beyond, along with an excellent pre-school, exciting children's and youth activities, and a congregational care program founded in both lay and pastoral involvement. 

Grateful for the strong foundation which has been laid here, we look forward to a future of growing even more in our service and love of Jesus Christ, and we invite any and all to join us in adding to the history of what God is doing in this place. 

Pastors Who Have Served Our Church

Our spiritual leaders over the years have included the following: 

Senior Pastors

Larry Sykora, October 1976 - January 1982

T. Mac Hood, January 1982 - June 1985

Don Little, June 1985 - September 1991

Jack Cox, October 1992 - June 1995

Jerry House, June 1995 - June 1998

Lawrence Culbertson, June 1998 - June 2002

C. Chappell Temple, June 2002 - June 2014

Joe Fort, June 2014 - March 2020

John Stephenson, June 2020 - present

Associate Pastors

Richard Whorter, June 1978 - May 1980

Dan Jones, May 1980 - June 1982

B.T. Williamson, June 1982 - June 1987

Bill Haygood, June 1987 - June 1992

Diane Wimberley Caldwell, June 1992 - June 1995

Jack Worsham, June 1995 - May 2008

Nancy Ross Creason, June 2001 - December 2005

Ben Trammell, June 2006 - June 2011

Betsy Sutherland, August 2006 - December 2007 and April 2009 - May 2010

Rusty Watkins, June 2008 - April 2009

Elizabeth Duffin, - June 2010 - June 2015

Seann Duffin, - June 2011 - June 2015

Holly Wilson, June 2010 - August 2016

Daniel Childs, July 2015 - June 2018

Trish Woodruff, July 2015 - present

Pam Cline, October 2016 - present

Shuler Sitsch, July 2018 - present

Pastor in Residence

Jack Shelton, July 2009 - 2014